Monday, June 27, 2016

Manic Monday: Meet WJ May! #AuthorLife #GuestAuthors


W.J. May grew up in the fruit belt of Ontario. Crazy-happy childhood, she always has had a vivid imagination and loads of energy.

After her father passed away in 2009, from a six-year battle with cancer (which she still believes he won the fight against), she began to write again. A passion she'd loved for years, but realized life was too short to keep putting it off.

She is a writer of Young Adult, Fantasy Fiction and where ever else her little muses take her.






Check it out!

Rae of Hope: Clean Paranormal Fantasy New Adult / Young Adult Novel (The Chronicles of Kerrigan Book 1) 12 is the Series book 1 is Free 
H ow hard do you have to shake the family tree to find the truth about the past? 

Fifteen year-old Rae Kerrigan never really knew her family's history. Her mother and father died when she was young and it is only when she accepts a scholarship to the prestigious Guilder Boarding School in England that a mysterious family secret is revealed.

Will the sins of the father be the sins of the daughter?

As Rae struggles with new friends, a new school and a star-struck forbidden love, she must also face the ultimate challenge: receive a tattoo on her sixteenth birthday with specific powers that may bind her to an unspeakable darkness. It's up to Rae to undo the dark evil in her family's past and have a ray of hope for her future.

Fans of Amanda Hocking, Veronica Roth, Suzanne Collins, Richelle Mead, Stephenie Meyer, or Bella Forrest, will love this young adult paranormal romance series by W.J. May.

Check it out!

Seventh Mark - Part 1 (The Hidden Secrets Saga) 6 in the series book 1 is Free 
Beautiful Rouge has little knowledge about her past, she has questions but has never tried to find the answers. Everything changes when she befriends a strangely intoxicating family. Siblings Grace and Michael, appear to have secrets which seem somehow connected to Rouge. Forced to be apart, Michael and Rouge's worlds collide when a hidden terror threatens to destroy Michael's family. Rouge may be the only one who can find the answer.

An ancient journal, a Sioghra necklace and a special mark force life-altering decisions for a girl who grew up unprepared to fight for her life or others.

All secrets have a cost and Rouge’s determination to find the truth may force her and Michael apart. It can only lead to trouble…or something even more sinister.

*Warning: There are werewolves in this story... and they are not friendly.*
** Warning #2: This book will end on a cliffhanger. Book 2 picks up where this book ends.**

Check it out!

Lost Vampire: Paranormal Vampire Shifter Romance (Bit-Lit Series Book 1) 3 book series book 1 is free 
The future is not a safe place.

When Tay Maslov was a girl, she lived in New York State, and her playground were the sun-drenched fields of her parent’s farm. But all that changed when one day the Servitors came, looking for new recruits for their master, the Archon Jeremiah of Brooklyn.

The vampires – or Elders – rule the cities now, and hardly any humans are left out in the wildernesses. All of that land is given over to the weird animal-like Shifters. The Elders run the Blood Banks, enforced Blood Donations, as well as the Blood Clubs, and the culls of insurgents.

When Tay Maslov, many years later and now a vampire herself, servant to her Archon Jeremiah, refuses to go on a cull of the poor humans she is cast down, becomes a Feral; hated by all. It is in this state that she meets Kaiden, himself a creature of the night – but far different from her. Which of them will survive what comes next?


Check it out!

Courage Runs Red (Blood Red Series Book 1) 4 book series book 1 is free 
What if courage was your only option?

When Kallie lands a college interview with the city’s new hot-shot police officer, she has no idea everything in her life is about to change. The detective is young, handsome and seems to have an unnatural ability to stop the increasing local crime rate. Detective Liam’s particular interest in Kallie sends her heart and head stumbling over each other.

When a raging blood feud between vampires spills into her home, Kallie gets caught in the middle. Torn between love and family loyalty she must find the courage to fight what she fears the most and possibly risk everything, even if it means dying for those she loves


Wednesday, June 22, 2016

#WriterWednesday: Finding Your Writing Zen

Not too long ago, my husband said, “Writer, just another word for procrastinate.” Now, to be fair, he was kidding. Yet, the phrase stuck with me, as does—research, just another word for procrastination. Or gathering your thoughts is an excuse for more of the same.

I am not going to say my experience is that of every other writer out there, but first and foremost, can I get a little more shut the hell up on being accused of procrastination if I am not actually typing all the words onto the screen? Thank you.

Writing is strenuous work. Achieving the creative focus need to generate all the words is a herculean task in a world where instant interruptions come in the form of canines, children, spouses, friends, family, and social media. Guess what, only one of those has an off switch.

The first quarter of this year, I couldn’t find my focus with two hands and a flashlight. No matter how well intentioned or disciplined, I’d sit to write or I’d start cleaning (my go to when focus is lacking and dude, let me tell you how clean the house was), but the words wouldn’t come. Why?

Why?



Yes, I am sitting here miming shaking my fist at the sky, but you can’t see my actions. Why is a damn good question, one I didn’t really have an answer to until I was driving back from one of my conferences. The answer, it seemed, was exceptionally simple. A year ago, my uncle passed away. Yes, I went to the funeral. Yes, I moved events around, we flew over, we stayed with family, we reconnected, then we went back to London, ran around for a day to try and alleviate my daughter’s stress and I focused on a lot of my emotional attention on my mother and my daughter.

After all, my mother had just lost her brother. My daughter is still young and her emotional well being always takes precedence with me. Once we were home, it was a marathon of getting ready to go back to school, getting school started and of course, getting to the next book on my list.

Long story short, I was busy. Then came our vacation, then the holidays, and the back and forth. In January, my mother-in-law fell ill, my mother was diagnosed with cancer, and my daughter was up to her eyeballs in rehearsals for her show not to mention all the work that came from being a Freshman in high school.

The stress kept piling on and I did what I always do, I kept shouldering it and pushing forward.

Now to the epiphany…during the drive, I was listening to a book on audio, and I don’t even remember which one, but one of the characters was saying something to the fact that no matter how fast or far she ran, she couldn’t escape herself.

The elusive answer to my lack of focus suddenly clanged through me. In all the months since my uncle passed, I hadn’t taken the time to let myself really grieve. Nor to really cope with all the other items in my life. I just kept piling them onto my back. I was still standing, but the burden was too much. I couldn’t walk.

Family, no matter how distant physically, is a vital part of us. Artists rely so much on their emotional foundations—good and bad—we can sometimes forget, that if we spend too long in the weeds, we can choke ourselves out.




I’ve always equated writing with a type of mental fitness. You have to exercise those muscles. Well you can also strain those muscles or force them into fatigue by working them when they aren’t healthy or ready. Understanding and accepting that part of my grief manifested in shutting off my creative outlets let me acknowledge the loss I still feel. A loss, I may always feel, and it is okay to feel that loss. I miss the man with the twinkle in his eye and the magical gift of always making me laugh.

Accepting the loss, accepting my feelings on the subject, and accepting myself and all the requisite flaws that entails opened the flood gates and the words poured out of me. So, with the best of intentions, let me remind you:

Set aside time to write – Don’t just say you’re going to write a chapter today, say you’re going to write between 8 and 12. Don’t just say you’re going to write x number of words, say you are going to write x number of words between hour a and hour b, then don’t let anything tramp on that.

Set aside time for you – As a mom, I always put myself last. As a mom and author, well let’s just say I have more time for everyone and everything else than I do for me. So I carved time into my schedule that is just for me. It’s time when I exercise, meditate, or if I am in a mood, I just curl up and read a book. This isn’t being lazy it’s self care and it’s as important to my muse and to my well being as getting the words down.

Clear distractions – Sometimes, when we’re distracted there’s a damn good reason for it. Instead of accusing yourself of failure (a bad habit I know a lot of us have) when we can’t write or the words aren’t flowing, ask yourself, what’s wrong? What do I need? What has my attention? Then face it, cope with it. As I mentioned earlier, I clean, a lot, when I’m lacking in focus. The physical act of cleaning house also lets me clean out the mental and emotional cobwebs. It clears away the distractions.

Free write – Still feel stuck? Still not seeing the words coming? Take the idea you want to write and twist it. Change your PoV, change the action, change one element and see what happens. To be absolutely blunt, my subconscious is so much smarter than my conscious mind, when a scene doesn’t work—it’s usually my subconscious slamming on the brakes with the understanding that it sees something I can’t. Trust those instincts.

Trust yourself. And hey, writing is hard work, so cut yourself some slack and dig deeper not only into the words, but to yourself.



XOXO AuthorGirl

Tuesday, June 7, 2016

#NewRelease #SneakPeek SNOW WOLF is here and the Wolves of Willow Bend are heating up the Yukon!

Don't miss the highly anticipated installment in the Wolves of Willow Bend as we travel north to one of the most secretive packs in the U.S.

Ranae is the youngest of the Buckleys and the only girl amongst three powerful male siblings. Her restlessness and dominant nature affected her every relationship within Willow Bend, not to mention testing the patience of her Alpha. Apprenticeship to the Hunters fed her desire for a purpose. When her Alpha and eldest brother ask her to undertake a mission to the Yukon territory, she’s thrilled at the opportunity to be useful. Clashing with the Alpha was the last thing she expected on the dangerous assignment.

The oldest Alpha in the U.S. packs lives a gray existence. The loss of his mate so many decades before wears away at him until he doesn’t give a damn about anything. The problems of the other packs are not his, and he prefers to be left to his isolation. The arrival of the Chief Enforcer annoys him, but it is the wolf traveling with him who wakes the predator in Diesel. The scent of mate clings to her, but she rejects his overtures and challenges him on every level.

War may be coming for the Yukon, but Diesel’s battle is very personal…

Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Kobo | ARe


Read the first two chapters right now!